Highlighted

Wetsuit for SUP

Hi all!

I'm just getting into paddle boarding and I'm looking for a good top to keep me warm while I'm in the water but won't be too hot while paddle boarding.

I'm 6'2", 175lbs (with a long torso) and have a great dislike for even slightly cold water. I naturally run cold, have pretty much no useful insulating fat, and have poor circulation.
All that is to say I don't want to wear a full body wetsuit but I was wondering what you might recommend as a good alternative.

I've been looking at wetsuit shorties, tops, and rash guards, but I've read the latter doesn't really keep you warm.

I just bought the hydroskin .05 to try it out.
It's difficult to find anything in a Tall size, but ideally I'm looking for something Medium Tall, with decent flexibility that would keep me warm in a lake on a summer day but not make me miserably hot/stiff while boarding.

Thanks for any suggestions!

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Wetsuit for SUP

@Hobbes Thanks for reaching out!

You are correct, that rashguards aren't really going to help keep you warm, particularly in the water. You off to a good start with the Hydroskin 0.5, we'll be curious to hear back if it is thick enough to work for you. Unfortunately, we don't carry anything in a Tall size, and it doesn't look like O'neill makes a tall version of many of the wetsuits we carry by them. However, it may be beneficial to check out the O'Neill Reactor II 1.5mm Front-Zip Wetsuit Jacket. At 1.5mm it will definitely help keep you warm, and the front zipper is super handy for putting it on and taking it off.

Additionally, for the flexibility you're looking for, take a look at the O'Neill Hyperfreak 1.5mm L/S Top. It comes in tall sizes and might fit great. Also, the O'Neill Reactor II 2mm Back Zip Spring Wetsuit is a good shorty wetsuit option. It even comes in a Medium-Tall if you order directly from O'Neill's website.

Hopefully this helps!

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well lived.