Highlighted

Advice on skiing equipment for a beginner.

Hello,

I am looking into buying skiing equipment so I don't have to continue renting. I'm not sure where to start, and I would love some advice. I'm a beginner skier, and I'm 5'7. 

Highlighted

Re: Advice on skiing equipment for a beginner.

Hey @Hayley,

Thanks for reaching out to us! Having your own gear is always best, especially when it comes to skiing. So I'm excited to get you started in right direction!

First, it's important to know what type of skiing you want to pursue? Are thinking about downhill skiing, backcountry, or cross-country? If you're unsure which is the right fit for you, here's a REI blog article discussing the various types of skiing out there. Also, our we have a great selection of Expert Advice articles going into even more detail on technique and gear you'd need for skiing as well.

Lastly, when you decide what type of skiing you want to pursue, it will be important to try on ski boots to see what models will fit best. Since we're currently at the end of Summer, REI will start stocking their in-store ski inventory soon. I would reach out to your local REI within the next month to inquire when they'll have their inventory will be available. 

I hope some of this info helps. Let me know if you have any additional questions and I wish you a great upcoming ski season!

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
Highlighted

Thanks for the reply! I am a downhill skier. I was wanting to try and narrow my choices down so I wasn't so overwhelmed. I see that quite a few skis come without the bindings. Is this standard? Where do I buy the bindings? And do all ski boots go with all bindings? Can I choose any boot and any skis, and a binding will connect the two? 

I am about an hour away from the Spokane store. 

Thanks so much for your help!

0 Likes
Highlighted

some folks like to purchase their skis and bindings separately.