Highlighted

Trail Running gear

I'm just getting into trail running and besides a good pair of shoes, what is your other must have piece of gear for a beginner? 

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
Highlighted

Re: Trail Running gear

A running vest! Get fitted for one or you might deal with chafing (REI can probably help with that!), but a running vest makes you self sufficient on long runs in the woods! You can carry your food of choice, water, extra clothes, your cell phone, etc!

Highlighted

That's a great idea @MollyG , and I'd feel really legit 🙂 

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
0 Likes
Highlighted

I would also say good bug spray and sunscreen.  Pick one that will repel ticks and make sure to test on your skin a day before for allergies.  Also some type of head gear to keep bugs out of your hair, Buff's are great for multi-purpose use.  And finally, a small light to put on your back so people can see  you.  The trails can be dark even during the day and if you would fall it's nice to have that flashing. 

Highlighted

The great thing about running is you really don't need much.  Depending on the difficulty of the trails, road shoes and road gear are perfectly fine...that said, I do love my Buff.  

Highlighted

Sorry, wrong thread.

Agreed.  Running is an inherently minimalist sport, and that is part of what makes it good.

“But I reckon I got to light out for the Territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she's going to adopt me and sivilize me, and I can't stand it. I been there before.”― Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huck Finn
0 Likes
Highlighted

“But I reckon I got to light out for the Territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she's going to adopt me and sivilize me, and I can't stand it. I been there before.”― Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huck Finn
0 Likes
Highlighted