Highlighted

Hitting a Training Plateau

Hey y'all - I am very new to this endurance training thing... I was a Division 1 basketball player in college, but needless to say, training to perform repeated 90ft sprints is quite different than any long-distance running. In the absence of a gym, I have decided to give running a try and (surprise) I love it! 

Anyway - I am now hitting a plateau in my training. For a week+ I have been crashing at the 3.5 mile mark (running ~8:00/miles). I'm currently running about 12-15 miles/week complimented by some self guided yoga and body weight exercises. Any advice for breaking through this barrier? My short term goal is a 10K, but I could easily see this growing into a passion that leads to marathons. All advice is welcome. 

Thanks!!

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Hitting a Training Plateau

Hi @cmfletcher!

Choosing a 10K as a stepping stone to a marathon is a great way to assess your base pace and fitness for training. 

Though it may seem counter-intuitive, my suggestion to help you both increase your running pace and distance is to run more miles, and run them more slowly. I really like this article from On Running about why slower running can help promote faster running on race day. It's incredibly detailed and discusses two main factors that can contribute to faster runs--how your body uses up its energy stores, and how your muscles can develop to help support long and fast efforts.

So, how fast or slow should you run? Depending on where you look, there's different opinions; however, most marathon training plans encourage nearly all of your running miles--70 or 80% of your total week's miles--to be run at an easy effort. You can gauge an easy effort if you have a heart rate monitor, and if you know your maximum heart rate. Generally easy runs should be no more than 80% of your maximum heart rate.