Highlighted

Hello! Backpacking Newbie Here...

Hi! 

@REI-JenK very kindly welcomed me here today and suggested I introduce myself here, so here I am!

I'm pretty new to outdoor activities - I've been more an indoors person all my life, with only occasional forays into the outdoors. In 2018, I decided to change that.

I'm 61, an architect who lives near Muncie, Indiana, married almost 40 years to a wonderful woman who's a registered nurse. I work for the Indiana State Department of Health where I review plans for construction projects in facilities we regulate. It's a cube-bound, mouse-pushing desk job, that, while not very stressful, takes a lot of time. My typical workday is 7:30 - 5:00, sometimes later, with almost 1 1/2 hours of commuting each way on top of that. It should go without saying I don't get a lot of exercise apart from the half-mile walk to and from my car and taking the steps to my fourth-floor office. In 2008 and 2013, I'd had minor heart events that were fixed with balloon angioplasties and stents, but between 2010 and 2013, I lost over 100 pounds and am healthier now than I've been in decades.

A couple of years ago, my best friend from my high school years was telling me about his many hiking and climbing trips, including a rim-to-rim hike of the Grand Canyon. It occurred to me that I've flown over it many times, but had never SEEN it, and wouldn't a hike IN IT be the best way to see it?

So in that conversation, it was decided - we'd plan and execute a repeat of Tom's trip, taking the South Kaibab Trail, overnighting at Bright Angel and Cottonwood, and hiking out the North Kaibab Trail.

In late 2018 I started taking walks with increasingly heavy loads in a souvenir day pack from our favorite cruise line. I then joined REI Coop and started acquiring gear and training in earnest, learning how to use and properly wear the gear. Tom assured me all the while I would do fine, as long as I got used to carrying the pack and walking long distances.