Highlighted

Re: What are your best water purification items?

Very good point, Erik.  Most water sources in North America usually just need to be sanitized to drink.  (I'm talking wilderness sources, not the ditch in the  back yard!)  In most cases, purification is way overkill.  Most folks confuse the terms "purify", "disinfected", "fit to drink", and so forth.  I'm a part time environmental engineer (well, mostly retired), and can wax poetic on the differences.  I can also be very boring!

Retired medical technologist and engineer
REI member since 1978
Highlighted

@Hikes_in_RainIn your opinion, is the fact that I can't filter out viruses with my Sawyer Squeeze really an issue in the US lower 48? I've never had an issue using the squeeze and mini, but maybe I've just been lucky. I'm asking because while I feel the risk is pretty low, I really don't want to find out the hard way either. My thought is that I'm mostly filtering for dirt and bacteria.

0 Likes
Highlighted

No sir, SILHiker, in my best professional opinion, viruses aren't really an issue on the North American continent (not just the lower 48).  Simple disinfection (and dirt removal), via filtration or chemical disinfection (doesn't remove dirt), is pretty much all you need.  In fact, I no longer treat water I use for cooking, since I'm going to boil it anyway.   Again, just to clarify, I'm talking wilderness sources.  Springs, for example.  The only thing that keeps me treating fresh spring water bubbling right out of the rock is paranoia.  (A degree in medical technology and two in engineering will do that to you!)  A stream you can look upstream and pretty much see the source, pretty close to being good to drink from.  My only concern there would be critters using it as well.  So, just disinfect. 

See, told you I could be boring!  Smiley Wink

Retired medical technologist and engineer
REI member since 1978
Highlighted

That was pretty much my line of thinking, glad to hear!

Highlighted