Highlighted

Suggestions for a first hike in CO without steep ledges (or suggestions for getting over the fear)?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Colorado and hiking in general. I'm a bigger guy but can easily hike 3 or 4 miles, however I tend to freak out on trails that have steep edges on the sides so I've been unable to finish many that I've tried. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get over this fear or a place that doesn't have these sheer ledges? 

Highlighted

Re: Suggestions for a first hike in CO without steep ledges (or suggestions for getting over the fea

There are hundreds of trails that would work for you.  What part of Colorado are you wanting information on?  Hermann’s Gulch off I-70 comes to mind, as well as South Fooses Creek near Salida.

Highlighted

Re: Suggestions for a first hike in CO without steep ledges (or suggestions for getting over the fea

Hi @Jpacillo! Welcome to the community! 🙂 Colorado is one of my favorite places in this country... any time I'm within its borders, I'm happy. What part do you live in, so we can get some suggestions close to you? Don't worry: there are a ton of places in CO that don't have sheer ledges! If you're close to Denver, you can go hike a 4-mile loop at the Red Rocks Amphitheater.

If all else fails, you can try to get over your fear of ledges using the method this dad did. 😄 

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
My dad won't let a crippling fear of heights keep him from peering over the edge. Well maybe.Dun Aonghasa, Inis MorFor licensing / permission to use please c...
Highlighted

Thanks so much! Love the video 😂

I live in Parker. I was at Castlewood Canyon yesterday to do the "easy" loop of Lake Gulch and Inner Canyon trail and ended up trying it from either side and turning around on both 😅

Highlighted