Highlighted

Recommendation for supportive Day Hiking Boots

Hi all,

I'm a beginner hiker currently doing 3 to 6 mile hikes 3-4 times a week.

In the near future I'll be doing longer and longer hikes working my way up to day hikes. 

I've narrowed my hiking boot selection to 3 pair, but not sure which is the best for my situation.

I have high arches and my feet roll inwards (I'm also purchasing support insoles) as well as double knee replacements 3 years ago. 

I need great traction and foot & ankle support. 

This is what I'm looking at. 

Vasque
Breeze III GTX Hiking Boots - Men's

Vasque
Canyonlands UltraDry Hiking Boots - Women's

Vasque
Mesa Trek UltraDry Hiking Boots - Women's

I'm not sure what the difference between men's and women's men's are and have no preference either way. 

Thanks in advance for suggestions and advice. 

April 🙂

3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Re: Day Hiking Boots

@ADivineCanine 

April,

Thanks for reaching out! You've made some good selections in these Vasque Boots; we're happy to help you narrow down your choices. 

For starters, for helping with pronation (when your arch collapses and your feet roll inwards), you're on the right track with purchasing supportive insoles. You'll want to bear in mind that some of them take up more volume than others and can sometimes impact the fit of a boot. Feel free to check out this Expert Advice article on How to Lace Hiking Boots for some techniques on how to adjust lacing to accommodate fit. 

In terms of traction and support for your feet and ankles, your best bet will be the Breeze III or the Canyonlands. Both will contain a firmer sole than the Mesa Trek and will give you better stability on the trail. While both of those boots are going to meet your needs, one major difference will be that the Breeze will be designed to ventilate a little better. If you're hiking in warm temperatures or your feet tend to get hot, that would be a good choice for you.

Hope this helps, thanks!