Highlighted

How different are Womens and Mens Backpacking back packs?

I am 5'3", female, about 125 lbs. 

Can I buy a men's backpack? I like the colors and design better than the women's packs. 

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: How different are Womens and Mens Backpacking back packs?

@HoughtonLikeTheLake I want to start off by saying I HEAR YOU. Men’s packs come in way better colors and it is a small point of mighty rage for me that I have to settle for muted, “feminine” colors to have a pack that sits comfortably.

Now on to the good stuff.

Men’s and women’s packs are designed differently, sadly beyond just color. They’re generalized as “men’s” and “women’s” but it boils down to smaller factors such as torso length, shoulder/hip width, pack height, etc. I’m not an expert by any means though and I always recommend folks to get fitted for their first pack so that you know how it’s supposed to feel. With stores being closed you can’t get fitted for a pack, but REI has resources for fitting packs I can’t link from my phone for some reason..

A quick google search of “REI backpack fitting” produces two great posts and a YouTube video from REI to help 😄.

Highlighted

@HoughtonLikeTheLake I want to start off by saying I HEAR YOU. Men’s packs come in way better colors and it is a small point of mighty rage for me that I have to settle for muted, “feminine” colors to have a pack that sits comfortably.

Now on to the good stuff.

Men’s and women’s packs are designed differently, sadly beyond just color. They’re generalized as “men’s” and “women’s” but it boils down to smaller factors such as torso length, shoulder/hip width, pack height, etc. I’m not an expert by any means though and I always recommend folks to get fitted for their first pack so that you know how it’s supposed to feel. With stores being closed you can’t get fitted for a pack, but REI has resources for fitting packs I can’t link from my phone for some reason..