Selecting the right biking shoes/cleats/pedals

Hey REI,

I've been leisurely cycling for eons and have an old Trek 820 hybrid (currently with street tires) that I love. With gyms closed, I've upped my cycling game from 2-5 miles a day to 15-20, so I'd like to explore biking shoes/clipless pedals to get a little more pedal power...and a little less strain on my feet (I typically wear barefoot shoes, so very little support).

I'm doing almost exclusively streets and paved trails, with the occasional dirt/gravel trail. But no real mountain biking. I do occasionally like to bike to a destination, so I'd like something with recessed cleats to walk around in without doing damage.

Looks/style are secondary to comfort and benefits. But I'm a total newbie to the clipless thing, so I'd like to start with a setup that's reasonably user friendly to get used to. 

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

Matthew

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Selecting the right biking shoes/cleats/pedals

@gelfling83 

I think you could go either way with the pedals but I find that beginners like the idea of being able to clip in on either side.  It will likely feel like less of a scramble for you.  But if you are fairly comfortable on your bike already, I think you can master clipping in with little trouble.  I personally find having the option to ride with regular shoes on a platform pedal a bonus!

In terms of shoes that you can use the SPD cleat with I am a fan of mountain biking shoes since they have a slightly more relaxed fit and they also are designed to walk a bit in.  You'll notice that Pearl Izumi and Shimano offer several styles. 

To get a feel for what other considerations might be important to you, take a look at this Expert Advice article as well.

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
0 Likes
Highlighted

Hey there @gelfling83!