Highlighted

Recommendations for purchasing my first Mountain Bike

Hello! I have been borrowing my roommate's mountain bike to use on local trails and have been enough that I want to start thinking about purchasing my own. I don't need anything crazy as I'm still new to the sport and I mostly anticipate using it on easy local trails. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated!!

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Recommendations for purchasing my first Mountain Bike

Hi there @mckenziethompson!

Thanks for reaching out to the Community looking for some advice!  Exciting to hear that you are enjoying cycling enough to want to get a mountain bike! 

I’m first going to encourage you to take a look at this expert advice article on how to choose a mountain bike. This will help you identify what features are important to you based on your personal experience and location. 

Any additional information you can share with us about where you like to ride can help us make a recommendation. Also, here is some helpful information in terms of proper bike fit.

As you start to narrow down some potential options, please feel free to reach back out with any follow-up questions!

My personal recommendation would be to check out our DRT 1.1

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
Highlighted

@REI-AlyS After doing a little research I'm interested in either the GHOST Lanao 4.7 27.5" Women's Bike - 2019, Cannondale Trail Tango 2 Women's Bike - 2020, or Co-op Cycles DRT 2.1 Bike. The bike I have been riding has front suspension but after reading the article I wanted to know if it's worth the extra money to purchase a bike with full suspension? I like in Duxbury, MA so I am mainly riding through the town forest (small to moderate climbs and descents, lots of roots, narrow trails).

0 Likes
Highlighted

@mckenziethompson 

I am a Massachusetts native myself!  I miss the South Shore!