Highlighted

Rock climbing with an ACL injury- advice?

Hey. So I am a very beginner climber, I’ve only climbed once outdoors, but several times indoors. It’s a big interest of mine though. And I’m trying to plan an outdoor trip for the end of this year. However, a few months ago I was in a motorbike accident and completely tore the ACL in my right knee. My surgeon didn’t recommend surgery to fix it, and it’s pretty stable already. But I’m wondering if rockclimbing is basically out of the picture. Because of current circumstances I am not able to get to a gym to test things out. Does anybody know of someone who rock climbs with the same injury as mine or similar injury? Any tips or advice?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Rock climbing with an ACL injury- advice?

@mountain_myah You don't need a climbing gym to try out various climbing moves.  Can you step high and push off?  Other typical contorted moves?  Test your legs at ground level first.  Check with your doctor - he just might recommend a good physical therapist.

Just my personal opinion - gym climbing is not rock climbing.  It resembles rock climbing in many respects, but real rock is a much more involved, intricate game.

Would you believe I am hopelessly trad? Probably pre-trad at that....

Highlighted

Haha! Trad all the way!

www.brynsharpphotography.com
0 Likes
Highlighted

Hi @mountain_myah, I'm sorry to hear about your injury. I have knee problems as well (chronic dislocation of my left kneecap), but I have never torn my ACL, so I can't speak specifically to that injury and climbing.