Highlighted

Recommendation for Climbing Harness for a Beginner

I’m just getting into climbing and I’m interested to hear your thoughts on good beginner harnesses/beginner kits. I was looking at the Black Diamond Momentum kit but I’m not sure if it’s for me.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Beginner climbing harnesses

The Black Diamond Momentum Kit is literally the best thing you can buy for a beginner kit and was already on my mind before I read the rest of your post. It comes with a chalk bag, chalk, ATC (belay device), carabiner, and of course, climbing harness. If you are still on edge about the purchase, you can try one on at REI. Most REI's have a rope set up to their ceiling so you can attach it to your harness and get a good feel for it. Another alternative is the Petzl Corax Climbing Kit. Happy climbing!

0 Likes
Highlighted

Depends on what kind of climbing you want to do.

I use a petzl Sama and love it. BD momentum is a great gym harness. Look at outdoorgearlab for reviews based on the type of climbing you plan on doing.

0 Likes
Highlighted

"BD momentum is a great gym harness. " Really?  I have been climbing in a Momentum, exclusively trad, for some time now.  Works great.  I concur with the recommendation to check out outdoorgear lab.  There they rate the momentum for trad and sport and it is their "best bang for the buck."

Now for a real traditional beginning, start with a single strand around the waist, secured with a bowline.  That's how we tied in during the late 50's... Then came the swami seat, tied with one inch tubular webbing - a vast improvement. Just about any of today's rigs are absolutely amazing, whatever the venue....

Have fun!!

0 Likes
Highlighted

I had the Petzl Corax before the BD Momentum I use now... The BD is incredibly more comfortable, but what also made a big difference for me was getting climbing specific pants. Pants with a seat designed to accommodate a harness made a massive difference as well.

0 Likes
Highlighted