Highlighted

Campfire Meals

Heading out on a 10 day camping trip with an 8 and 10 year old.  Anyone have any favorite campfire meals?

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
0 Likes

Re: Campfire Meals

One of our favorites and very easy is beanie weanie..cook hot dogs over fire open can of baked beans simmer with brown mustard mix together......

Hi Karen

I know this is an older post but what kind of camping are you planning?  What I'd suggest for drive up tent camping would be differnt than for a paddling or backpacking trip.  And what would you be cooking on?

LanceR

0 Likes

Pasta using noodles and salami 👍

0 Likes

@LanceR I was car camping and using both a two burner stove and I brought a Jetboil as well (I mean I do work at REI!).  I am a great cook at home so wanted to translate that to the outdoors and not just eat beanie weinies, plus my 10 year old is a vegetarian.  It is hard enough to get her to eat at home!  I found cannelli and black beans in a soft sided container at my local grocery store so i stocked up on them and we did have some pasta meals, but with lots of fresh vegetables i brought from our garden.  Day five and six got a little trickier because we were at least 30+ minutes from ice or water. If you have any great favorites I would love to hear them! 

Hi Karen, I'm glad for you that you got to spend the time with them.  Our six kids are long out of the house but over the last few years we started over again as we are now camping and backpacking with grandkids.  It has been a blast!

Having worked with a lot of youngsters (and adults) in camp and on trails, I realize that there is often some flexibility in "vegetarian". For instance, would some bits of ham in pea or black bean soup be an issue?  Or, maybe like our vegetarian DIL who will eat ham or white meat chicken is the vegetarian diet less than absolute?  And a lot of vegetarians experience weakened resolve at the smell of bacon....