Highlighted

Anyone have tips and advice for setting up camp in the rain?

We are expecting rain on the first day of upcoming camping trip (but the rest is expected to be nice).  We will be car camping at a state site.  Anyone with any stories of their experience or tips on setting up while it's pouring?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Anyone have tips and advice for setting up camp in the rain?

@stinemarie 

Unfortunately, I've had a lot of experience setting up in the rain! My experiences have all been on backcountry through hikes, but the principals should remain the same as car camping.

1) Keep your key items DRY (sleeping bag, extra set of clothes, anything needed to make fire with, etc).  For car camping, the obvious way to do this would be simply to leave these items in the car until your tent is set up.

2) Find a high point to make camp.  Last thing you want is to wake up to a flooded area with water entering your tent.  Try to find a spot where water will flow away from you.

3) Ideally, you'll have a tent that has the rain fly attached.  This way the inside of the tent will stay as dry as possible.  IF not, and you have a few extra hands, you can have a few people hold the rain fly over the tent as it is being set up.  Try to wait it out in your car as long as possible to find a break in the rain to do this.  BRING A TARP TO LAY UNDER YOUR TENT.  This will help keep the water from seeping through.  Most likely, the bottom of your tent is only water resistant, not water proof.

4) Bring trash bags to move your dry items from the vehicle to the tent.  Bring anything you need to be inside the tent for a while to wait out the storm (food, water, cards, book, etc).  You don't want to have to keep going in and out, tracking mud and water in with you each time.  Once you're ready to set up the inside of the tent, remove your wet clothes and just throw them outside.  Use the towels to dry up anything you could've tracked in with you.