Highlighted

Tips to prevent blisters

IMO, and I'm not a doctor, the best way to handle blisters, is to prevent them.

If you get a hot spot on your heel or somewhere else, put your ego in your pocket and stop!

Take time to put a simple piece of tape or a bandaid on the hot spot to eliminate the rub and prevent more problems down the trail.

Up until last year, I had gone years without a blister.

Last April 2019, while camped at bright angel campground, grand canyon NP, I took off my socks to walk around in my trail runners and take pictures. Unbelievably, I didn't notice my heel was being rubbed until it was too lake and I had a huge blister. 

Fortunately, I was able to just tape it down and drive on with no pain.

REI Member Since 1979 YouTube.com/philreedshikes
0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Tips to prevent blisters

I agree with the OP in that prevention is the best medicine.  If you treat a hot spot early it won't have a chance to get worse.  And as long as you're walking, it won't get better without intervention.

Reduce friction by using liner socks.  I love Injinji socks with toes.  I used to be plagued with blisters between toes, but I've not had a single problem since changing to Injinjis.  I never even need to think about my feet anymore.

0 Likes
Highlighted

I agree.  The trick is getting tape that sticks.  I find that no matter how sticky the tape is, I have to clean my skin with an alcohol prep pad or something. Otherwise, my duct-tape or KT tape isn't going to stay put.

Incidentally, I have also played around a little with Body Glide and found that it helps.

“But I reckon I got to light out for the Territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she's going to adopt me and sivilize me, and I can't stand it. I been there before.”― Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huck Finn
0 Likes
Highlighted

I agree that prevention is key.