Highlighted

Preparing for a backpacking trip - have a few questions!

Hello,

I am a newbie to backpacking and have an upcoming 3-day backpacking trip in upstate NY, I currently have a Kestrel 48 pack and would like to know a couple of key details as to how to prepare the bag most conveniently. I purchased a Coleman north rim sleeping bag but the pictures made it look smaller than it actually is, therefore, it doesn't fit in the sleeping bag compartment or on the outside of the bag. Do you know of any sleeping bags that best fit in that compartment and are top-rated? Also if you have any tips or tricks that a newbie backpacker should know to be most comfortable and convenient that would also be appreciated. Thank you for your time!

Highlighted

Re: Preparing for a backpacking trip - have a few questions!

Hey there @Aymenm23!

Sounds like you have a nice trip planned for yourself!  Sorry you have run into a little trouble with your sleeping bag. 

I am just curious if the bag came with a compression sack or if you have already attempted to get it in one and down to it's smallest size.  Understandably a 48 liter pack could potentially be a tight fit with a larger bag.  If you have yet to look into a compression sack, I would start there.  Something like a Sea to Summit Compression Sack might do the trick. If this is not a viable option, let us know so that we can provide some additional advice.

I am also going to link here a previous conversation about Backpacking Essentials! Some of our very experienced users offer some great tips! There is also a fun feed where our users talk about their Five Favorite Pieces of Backpacking Gear!

Hope this info is helpful and please reach back out to us with any additional follow up questions!  

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
0 Likes
Highlighted