Highlighted

Newcomer to backpacking! Trying to find a friend(s) to tag along with as I get the ropes

So while I do have experience in hiking, I'm as new to camping/backpacking as one can be. I've been wanting to open up my outdoor experience towards camping and backpacking for months but none of my friends are into this radical thing called "outside" so during all the COVlD stuff, that def didn't work out. I was also advised NOT to try backpacking/ camping alone as a first time (which I understand) so I came here! This is my first time in the REI community so I hope I'm in the right place. 

I'm in my 20's from Florida but live in Central Texas. I've have been thru hiking, hiking rocky mountains etc. So I feel like I have the stamina to keep up with the group. I've recently purchased all the necessary (in my opinion) to start backpacking. I'm also an open and outgoing person down for anything, esp if it's with the boys 🍻 I'm currently in Central Texas but am willing to drive about an hour in any direction to backpack/camp. If you're in or near my area hit me up. Thanks!

Highlighted

Re: Newcomer to backpacking! Trying to find a friend(s) to tag along with as I get the ropes

Hi @Bushcraft_Vega, I'm so excited that you've decided to start camping/backpacking. Both are AMAZING outdoor activities, and I'm sure you'll love them. I wanted to draw your attention to a similar post that was recently written by another individual living in Texas, @trails, who is also a beginner backpacker. Maybe you guys can get in contact! Here is the link to the post, which also has some suggestions/advice you may want to read.

I also have a lot of camping and backpacking experience (in a variety of locations), so if you have any questions don't hesitate to reach out; I'll help however I can. 🙂

Have fun and stay safe!

www.brynsharpphotography.com
Highlighted

Re: Newcomer to backpacking! Trying to find a friend(s) to tag along with as I get the ropes

Will do, thanks!

Highlighted