cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calories to Consume Backpacking

I'm wondering what others use as a calculation for calories to consume per day while backpacking. The "standard" of weight * 25 or 30 for all day activity with a pack seems high to me, but I'm fairly new to backpacking. I'm 250lbs, fairly fit and strong (ahem...dad bod), with a pack base weight of 29lbs. If I were to consume the standard calculation, that's 6,000 calories per day, which is a ton of food. I will also often be going with my 8-year old daughter who has proven well in hikes of a few miles in a little over an hour, and her total pack weight will be 10lbs (12lbs if she needs to carry an extra liter of water). She's 68lbs in weight and is very fit/toned (lots of gymnastics). 

Assuming we hike roughly 10 miles in a day, or between 4-6 hours of active hiking depending on terrain and temperature, what would you recommend on caloric intake? I'm up for going into a deficit for my own intake to lose 20-30lbs over time, which would be my fit/healthy weight, but I need to ensure my daughter maintains. I'm assuming 1700-2000 calories per day is a good number for her.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Re: Calories to Consume Backpacking

I suggest you read some trail journals written by (or watch video blogs) and see what hikers say about what they carry foodwise and how much they eat. You don't say how long this hike will be, though you imply it is more than just a long weekend. 

Generally speaking, and YMMV, hikers on the Appalachian Trail have suppressed appetite during the first 1-2 ish weeks of their hikes. Their example should serve as a good guide no matter where you might be hiking. Many new thru-hikers overpack their food bags and arrive at the first resupply opportunity with meals still to go.