Backpacking newbie trying to tag along with like minded people

Hey Guys,

I am new to backpacking. As a newbie backpacking can get really overwhelming especially due to the idea of being on your own and of course there's all this gear you have to buy. While I am getting some really good help from the REI store folks but due to the covid 19 situation all the activity classes are not happening. Is it a good idea to look for someone who I can tag along for the first couple of backpacking until to get a hang of it? Unfortunately, none of my friends are up to it so yeah I am on my own.

For a quick background, I live in North Texas and I have done a lot of small to medium day long hikes in Zion, Bryce, Smokies and Rockies NP's so I have some experience. I also like outdoor and nature adventure so that's why I am putting in some money to buy all the necessary equipment and gears for backpacking. Any help in finding like minded people to tag along would be really helpful.

Highlighted

Re: Backpacking newbie trying to tag along with like minded people

@trails This is so exciting! If you have Facebook, I would recommend joining some of the hiking and backpacking groups that are centered around the area you're looking to backpack in. You should be able to find some people to join there!

www.brynsharpphotography.com
Highlighted

Sure and I was talking to someone in the REI's today and they also suggested joining some local FB groups. It is definitely exciting but needs careful planning and the first couple of times are not going to be easy unless I have an experienced backpacker with me. So I will try and thank you.

Highlighted

@trails no problem!

I'm only 23 but I have a lot of experience backpacking, especially in the backcountry, in a variety of environments and locations (I'm actually planning 2 backpacking trips for the next 2 weeks right now!). So don't be afraid to shoot me a DM or comment and ask me any other questions you might have. I'm always happy to help!