Highlighted

What is the best way to start a career at REI?

Hi Team,

I am getting close to the financial position that will enable me to take a leap from my current career in engineering. I've felt unfulfilled for awhile and have been preparing to follow my passion for outdoor recreation. I think REI is a great way to start out in this new world with every intention of making it my career.

I have a lot of experience outdoors, especially backpacking, but not in retail. What is the best way to set myself up for long-term success at REI and beyond? What career paths are available? Where could I risk pigeonholing myself? I want to build real experience, establish myself as a solid team member, contribute to the mission, and do it for the long-haul.

Thanks in advance,

Fresh Legs, AT SOBO 2019

Highlighted

Re: What is the best way to start a career at REI?

@AppBlanchianTrail Thanks for reaching out!

This is a really fun question for us to answer, but before we do, can you let us know where you see yourself at REI? What interests you? Are you looking for a career in retail? This will help us narrow down our advice, thanks!

John

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well lived.
Highlighted

@AppBlanchianTrail Thanks for your patience as we put some thought into this answer!

At REI there are many ways you can find a fulfilling career helping people get outside! It can be challenging to provide specifics around which career path would be best for you, as there are many different options. If you are interested in beginning your career in retail (what I did!) then your best bet is to visit a store and speak with employees and a manager about your options. We are always on the lookout for folks who love the outdoors and are good at sharing that passion with others. Depending on your location and market there are lots of career options: retail management, Outdoor Programs and Outreach, outdoor instructors, shop technicians, full time sales, etc.