Highlighted

New to camping

Hi! I’m new to camping. I’m 60, 250lbs. and 6’6”. I would like to make my first camping experience as comfortable as possible. I’m open to suggestions on equipment like a great sleeping pad, tent for 2 that’s fairly easy to get in and out of, etc. any suggestions on the basics? Thank you! 

Highlighted

Re: New to camping

Hey @Kooler! We are happy to hear you are giving camping a shot! With the amount of options out there, we know it can be rather daunting. I would recommend starting this new journey by taking a look at a couple of our buying guides to help get an idea of the sleeping bag, sleeping pad, and tent that you might want to start out with. We even have a guide on how to set up a comfortable campsite, which sounds right up your alley. We have a couple sleeping pads in your height range, including the Therm-a-Rest MondoKing 3D Sleeping Pad (in XX Long size) or the Nemo Roamer  Self-Inflating Pad (in the XL Wide size). Do just take into account the R-value you'd be looking for depending on the seasons you'd like to camp-- something we explain in that article above. Also, don't forget to check out our camping checklist as well to make sure that the only thing you'll have to worry about is that you might not be able to stay camping forever! See you out there!

At REI, we believe a life outdoors is a life well-lived.
Highlighted